The Mills'
Event

2021.03.19 - 05.02

Weave Upon A Time

“Weave upon a time” installation exhibition create a space for visitors to rest and contemplate on their lives.

We invite you to take a seat, read a book, knit, meet your friends, enjoy the moment of leisure and feel the possibilities of life here.

People in Hong Kong often complain that they are, as the saying goes, “busy dying and have no time to get sick”. Since last year, we all have experienced the inconvenience, uncertainty and hardship of the pandemic.

 

Our lives have been very different from the past due to various reasons. We are spending more time at home. We have to distance each other because of the social-distancing measures. The busyness we took for granted seems to have vanished into thin air at a sudden. In the face of illness, life and death, busyness is nothing of significance. Urban life is slowly taking away from us the space to ponder the value of life; busyness, forgetfulness, confusion, busy working life, lost in life. Life seems to be very confusing as we wake up at sudden.

 

I have seen from my friends and on the social media that many people are, little by little, exploring things which they have never touched in their busy lives – like cooking, painting, reading, planting or anything they have never come across – to unearth possibilities in life.

“Weave upon a time” installation exhibition create a space for visitors to rest and contemplate on their lives. Illustrator LOSZEHAHA and the children from the Artkids Studio created illustrations in the “laziest” way. The illustrations are presented on the glass doors of The Mills and welcome everyone for the idling atmosphere inside.

 

Textile designer Zoe Siu and product designer OrangeTerry adopted various weaving methods to revive and recycle the old furniture into a series of leisure chairs, invoking imaginations on everyday things.

 

Inspired by the concept of Meditation Cave, Breakthrough Art Studio reinterpreted the traditional bamboo and rattan weaving patterns and constructed an artificial cave with “triangular tiles” made of colourful cloths. Visitors are invited to take part in the installation and bring more colours to the hills and add tranquillity and vitality to the caves.

 

Contemporary dance group TS Crew designed a fun and participatory dance performance to explore how people express the beauty of weaving with their bodies and simple materials.

 

Rolling Books, a local social enterprise, welcomes our friends with books and introduces the concept of mobile book cart to the community. They promote resilience in response to social conditions through reading.

 

We invite you to take a seat, read a book, knit, meet your friends, enjoy the moment of leisure and feel the possibilities of life here.

Illustrator LOSZEHAHA and the children from the Artkids Studio created illustrations in the “laziest” way. The illustrations are presented on the glass doors of the Mills and welcome everyone for the idling atmosphere inside.

LOSZEHAHA graduated from visual communication programme in HKDI, she loves to create her works through illustration and clay. Recently, she focuses on the three primary colours of red, yellow and blue for her series. She has also published a zine on self-help, encouraging readers to take good care of their hearts and accompanying them through the journey of healing.

Textile designer Zoe Siu and product designer OrangeTerry adopted various weaving methods to revive and recycle the old furniture into a series of leisure chairs, invoking imaginations on everything things.

Based on the traditional classroom student chairs, we explore the sitting positions, the forms of chairs and their materials through a series of works. We add a sense of warmth to the austere appearance of student chairs. By weaving colourful threads onto the chairs in different ways, we transform the furniture into outdoor leisure chairs and props for dancers, which can stimulate imagination about the things in our daily life.

Here we explore the possibilities of the materials in three aspects, namely 1) the interactions between the chairs and the people; 2) the structure of a student chair, and 3) the use of everyday materials. A regular student chair is made out of steel rods, plywood, plastic chair leg covers and rivets. These are simple materials, but small details and vivid soft fabrics can be added to them to play on the striking contrast of textures between hard and soft materials.

Zoe Siu

Zoe Siu was graduated from Hong Kong Polytechnic University, majoring in fashion design. She is a Hong Kong-based knot designer, known for her bold, sculptural accessories and striking ropework installations. Weaving together traditional craftsmanship with inventive and modern design.

Zoe has been pushing boundaries further by exploring the architectural possibilities. Dedicated to promoting the art of knotting, Zoe regularly runs workshops for international brand launches, including OMEGA, RIMOWA, Adidas, Uniqlo, MIKIMOTO & MARIMEKKO.

 

OrangeTerry

Local designer OrangeTerry constantly hand-made daily goods from materials found nearby. OT appreciates the way he looked at everyday objects and thus began to approach things in similar ways; to give new meaning and function to the most ordinary. His works aim to interrogate the material, systemic and formal approaches to the creation of objects. Frequently his works consider the resources around us challenging the notion of ‘waste’ to create alternative aesthetic.

Inspired by the concept of Meditation Cave, Breakthrough Art Studio reinterpreted the traditional bamboo and rattan weaving patterns and constructed an artificial cave with “triangular tiles” made of colourful cloths. Visitors are invited to take part in the installation and bring more colours to the hills and add tranquillity and vitality to the caves.

Reacting to the rapid change in the global climate, people accumulated lots of negative emotions. And sometimes, these emotions may not be aware. To manage them, ‘space’ is a good for mindfulness. But how can we find such a good place in this bustling city?

“Meditation Cave” was inspired by the holy caves in the nature, where is loved by monks and yoga enthusiasts. Cell-liked cave is a place to connect with inner self and have the utmost awareness of existence. By disconnecting to outer messages, individuals can have a real self-conversation.

Both space and weaving are a mindful healing process. Publics are invited to co-weave the caves. The caves were formed by ‘triangular titles’. Geometrical shapes are manmade substance, which is not existed in nature. But the interesting thing is triangle can be built into infinite possibilities. We reinterpret the ‘triangular tiles’ by weaving traditional bamboo and rattan woven patterns with colorful yarns. These manmade “Meditation Cave” are lively and fruitful, but have peacefulness at the same time.

Founded in 2015, Breakthrough Art Studio explores and studies traditional textile crafts and culture, and is dedicated to the development of local textile brands and the promotion of woven culture in the public. Over the past few years, the team has been travelling around Southeast Asia to study its traditional and local textile culture. The Studio has been developing a well-rounded and systematic curriculum for the public on the relations between weaving and its cultural background.

 

In recent years, the Studio has tried to infuse craft techniques with art. It hosts public activities in which participants can make large installations with composite materials like cotton, linen, bamboo, rattan and wood. Participants can experience art through different senses and perspectives and know more about crafts and culture.

“Weave Upon A Time” Exhibition Book Selection

Rolling Books curates a selection of ten fine books for the exhibition “Weave Upon A Time”, responding to the post-pandemic life that is intertwined with hustling and leisure. Among the selection, there are books about weaving stories in the community, about the microscopic insight of time and life, and about the early livelihood experience through memories. Rolling Books promotes the well-being of leisure and solitude through slow reading, in the pursuit of resilience in response to social challenges. Besides picture books, we also nominate fine books for parents, allowing the co-reading experience to nourish and grow among families.

Books Curation: Rolling Books
Books Introduction By: Adrian @ GlanceSeaFroamShip

Reacting to the rapid change in the global climate, people accumulated lots of negative emotions. And sometimes, these emotions may not be aware. To manage them, ‘space’ is a good for mindfulness. But how can we find such a good place in this bustling city?

“Meditation Cave” was inspired by the holy caves in the nature, where is loved by monks and yoga enthusiasts. Cell-liked cave is a place to connect with inner self and have the utmost awareness of existence. By disconnecting to outer messages, individuals can have a real self-conversation.

Both space and weaving are a mindful healing process. Publics are invited to co-weave the caves. The caves were formed by ‘triangular titles’. Geometrical shapes are manmade substance, which is not existed in nature. But the interesting thing is triangle can be built into infinite possibilities. We reinterpret the ‘triangular tiles’ by weaving traditional bamboo and rattan woven patterns with colorful yarns. These manmade “Meditation Cave” are lively and fruitful, but have peacefulness at the same time.

Rolling Books is a social enterprise that aims to promote reading experience. We simultaneously work on social issues including poverty alleviation of minority groups, community social inclusion, and women’s empowerment.

Weave upon a time Programme

 “Weave Upon a Time” Glass Drawing workshop

Illustrator LOSZEHAHA will teach you how to create plant illustration, and it would show on the glass doors at The Mills, to welcome everyone for the idling atmosphere inside.

Artist : LOSZEHAHA

Date: 20/3/2021

Time : 11:00 – 12:30

FREE EVENT

Bamboo Fan weaving workshop 

Local weaving artist “Breakthrough Art Studio” teach you how to weave a bamboo fan, workshop fee included a material pack, participates will experience the joy of weaving and to made the unique bamboo fan with their own hand.

Tutor : Breakthrough Art Studio

Date : 27/3/2021 ; 17/4/2021

Time : 13:00 – 15:00 / 15:30 – 17:30

Fee : $250

“Weave Upon a Time” Zine drawing workshop

Illustrator LOSZEHAHA teach you the illustration technique and colour combination skills, so you can create your own zine and have fun.

Artist : LOSZEHAHA

Date : 10/4/2021

Time : 14:00 – 16:30

Fee : $100

Dance Performance : Spinning

Local Contemporary dance group TS Crew designed a fun and participatory dance performance to explore how people express the beauty of weaving with their bodies and simple materials.

Artist: TS Crew

Date: 2/4/2021

Time: 16:30 – 17:30

FREE EVENT

Story telling “Greeny Runaway”

Rolling Books is a social enterprise that aims to promote reading experience. In Easter Rolling Books will have a story telling session to tell the “Greeny Runway” story. It’s a community story created by The Mills and Hong Kong Society for the Protection of Children, about a little green man from the traffic light escaped one day and his experience in the Tsuen Wan community. Through encountering different characters in the community to learn to respect the value and story behind everyone.

Collaborator: Rolling Books

Date: 5/4/2021

Time: 14:30 – 15:00 / 16:00 – 16:30

FREE EVENT

《Weave Upon A Time》 Hand-Woven Bamboo Fan Weaving Kit

Hand-Woven Bamboo Fan is designed by local fiber artist, Breakthrough Art Studio. They are exploring traditional technique of weaving by using various materials. They recently adopting bamboo weaving into art creation and designed this easy yet fun hand-woven bamboo fan. Let’s STAY HOME and to make summer more fun!

The Mills partners with Audio Description Association (Hong Kong) to produce an accessible tutorial video, in which audio description has been integrated with the narration and Hong Kong sign language interpretation has been included, ensuring that everyone can enjoy weaving with us!

The colour combination of fan kit is already matched and allocated on a random basis, simply scan the QR code on the instruction sheet to watch the tutorial video!

活動

2021.03.19 - 05.02

編編閒暇

《編編閒暇》裝置藝術展,透過不同的空間設置希望大家能在這些空間之中休息,及透過創作反思生活。

歡迎你來到《編編閒暇》,希望你能在這個地方好好坐下,看看書也好,編織一下也好,和朋友相聚也好,期望你能單純地享受片刻閒暇,感受生活的可能性。

香港人有一句俗語:「得閒死唔得閒病。」相信大家於過去一年也體驗到疫症為我們帶來了一段不便、充滿不穩定性及艱難的時刻。

 

因著各種原因我們的生活變得跟從前不一樣,留在家中的時間變多了,人與人之間的距離卻受著種種限制而拉遠了。一些我們平常認為是理所當然的忙碌,一下子好像消失得無影無蹤,原來面對疾病和生死,忙碌是如此微不足道。城市生活使我們慢慢喪失了思考生活價值的空間;忙、忘、茫,忙着工作、忘記生活,當有一刻醒過來發現生命是如此茫然。

 

這段時間從身邊的朋友及不同的社交媒體當中看到很多人慢慢去發掘平時忙碌的生活中沒有觸碰的一些東西,例如是:烹飪、繪畫、看書,種植甚至乎是一些自己從來沒有接觸過的東西。此去尋找生活的另一種可能性。

 

《編編閒暇》裝置藝術展,透過不同的空間設置希望大家能在這些空間之中休息,及透過創作反思生活。插畫家 LOSZEHAHA與明愛賽馬會動藝術館的一班小朋友以最”hea”姿態創作插畫,呈現在紗廠玻璃幕門上,為大家準備好閒”hea”的心情。

 

本地紡織設計師Zoe Siu及本地設計師OrangeTerry利用回收的家具以不同的編織方法修復並製作一系列的休閒椅讓他們再次活起來,藉此帶來更多對日常事物的想象。

 

Breakthrough Art Studio 「破.格」 《空.洞》 為創作靈感, 以傳統竹籐編製品常見的圖案,利用不同色彩斑斕的布條重新演繹,編製「三角瓦磚」,搭建出人造山洞。希望大家共同參與其中,為山丘群編上色彩,為洞穴添上一份寧靜和生氣。

 

而本地形體藝術團體TS Crew,更專誠為是次展覽設計了有趣的參與式舞蹈表演,看看他們如何利用身體及簡單的物料帶出編織之美。

 

本地社會企業Rolling Books以書會友,透過流動概念書車,將閱讀帶進社區。以閲讀推動抗逆力應對社會狀況。

 

歡迎你來到《編編閒暇》,希望你能在這個地方好好坐下,看看書也好,編織一下也好,和朋友相聚也好,期望你能單純地享受片刻閒暇,感受生活的可能性

插畫家 LOSZEHAHA與明愛賽馬會「兒」動藝術館的一班小朋友以最”hea”姿態創作插畫,呈現在紗廠玻璃幕門上,為大家準備好閒”hea”的心情。

LOSZEHAHA畢業於香港知專設計學院視覺傳達系;喜愛以插畫、黏土為創作媒介;近年喜愛以三原色色系致力創作;曾自資及眾籌出版獨立小誌「照顧你的小心靈」盡一分力為大家療傷。

本地紡織設計師Zoe Siu及產品設計師OrangeTerry利用回收的家具以不同的編織方法修復並製作一系列的休閒椅讓他們再次活起來,藉此帶來更多對日常事物的想象。

以傳統課室學生椅為藍本,我們想藉着一系列作品探索學生椅的坐姿、形態及材質。與此同時,我們把它嚴肅的形象加添一種溫暖,利用色彩繽紛的柔軟繩子進行不同的編織方法,把只作課室用途的椅子轉化為休閒椅,以及給舞者作表演的工具,藉此帶來更多對日常事物的想象。

今次我們主要分開三部分的探索:1)椅子和人的互動;2)學生椅本體解構;3)日常物料的應用。學生椅主要由鐵通、夾板、膠腳套及拉釘組成,用料簡單,但當中加上很多小細節,再配上鮮豔的柔軟紡織物,一硬一軟構成有趣的強烈對比。

Zoe Siu

Zoe Siu 2007年畢業於香港理工大學時裝設計,曾為國際牛仔褲品牌 DKNY JEANS 及 LEVIS當設計工作,之後對繩結藝術產生興趣,2011年毅然決定要創立ZOEE。Zoe Siu喜愛把傳統手工藝細節融入充滿現代感的飾物結構中,突顯新舊元素碰撞出來的化學作用。

除了設計首飾配件外,Zoe還通過探索繩索的建築可能性,通過繩索裝置改造零售和畫廊空間來進一步推動邊界,這些裝置既具有雕塑般的大膽和精心複雜。 Zoe致力於推動打結藝術,獲邀在國際品牌發布會設計不少紡織工作坊,包括OMEGA, RIMOWA, Adidas, Uniqlo, MIKIMOTO, 45R, MARIMEKKO, etc.

 

OrangeTerry

本地設計師OrangeTerry,經常利用常見的物料手工製作日常用品。OrangeTerry細心觀察日常物品,並開始以同樣方式欣賞不同的事物,為最平凡的物件賦予全新意義和功能。他透過作品研究物件的取材,探索事物創造的形式和方法,反思資源運用,挑戰 “浪費”的觀念,創造另類美學。

Breakthrough Art Studio 「破.格」 以《空.洞》 為創作靈感, 以傳統竹籐編製品常見的圖案,利用不同色彩斑斕的布條重新演繹,編製「三角瓦磚」,搭建出人造山洞。希望大家共同參與其中,為山丘群編上色彩,為洞穴添上一份寧靜和生氣。

近年環境的急劇變化,不知不覺中人累積了各種負面情緒,面對情緒來襲,我們相信「空間」是淨化心靈與整頓思維的良方,但在繁囂的都市之中如何尋找?

《空.洞》以渾然天成的自然洞穴為創作靈感,其遮蔽性空間及大自然的溫度和聲音,讓置身其中的個體能暫時關掉外間的頻道,是一個能夠釋放心中抑壓、建立自我對話的「空間」。

洞穴以幾何圖形形成,幾何圖形在大自然中並不存在,但巧妙地三角形是塑造出無限可能的立體形態的「瓦磚」。以傳統竹籐編製品常見的圖案,利用色彩斑斕的線材重新演繹,編製「三角瓦磚」,搭建出人造山洞。是次與公眾共同打造這個空間,在山丘群上編上色彩,為洞穴添上一份寧靜和生氣。編織是一個讓身心靈對話的療癒途徑,在重覆的動作之中找到調理的步伐,轉移精神,暫時放下思緒。

Breakthrough Art Studio於2015年成立,專注於傳統紡織工藝和文化的探索和研究,並開發本地織具品牌,向大眾推廣梭織文化。為更深入研究傳統在地的紡織文化,團隊數年間走訪東南亞多地,逐漸建立一套更完整、有系統的課程,讓大眾能由淺入深地了解不同的編織工藝和文化背景的連結。

近年團隊把工藝技術與藝術結合,透過複合素材例如棉、麻、竹、籐、木等等,與大眾一同創作大型的裝置,讓參加者得到不同觀感的體驗,更深入了解工藝與文化,不再單單在視覺上欣賞作品,可以在過程之中,以另一個角度感受藝術作品。

Rolling Books為《編編閒暇》裝置藝術展選書十本,回應交織著忙碌與閒暇的後疫情生活。當中有記述社區內的編織小故事,也有分享有關時間與人生的領會,以及通過回憶重塑從前的市民生活。希望大家能享受片刻閒暇,以閲讀沉澱休息過後,推動抗逆力應對社會狀況。繪本以外,選書也包括適合家長獨自閱讀的,在同一領域議題下,一起閱讀成長。

選書:Rolling Books
書介撰寫:Adrian@揚帆出海的一瞥

 

Rolling Books透過流動書車,將閱讀推廣的有趣點子駛進社區,希望將閱讀的樂趣化成真摰的體驗,讓小朋友自發投入閱讀世界。我們希望擴大閱讀推廣的影響力,重新建造閱讀體驗的新形態。我們亦會嘗試其他的創新項目實驗,推廣可持續發展知識。

Rolling Books是推廣閱讀體驗的社會企業。透過靈活貼地的流動概念書車,以閱讀推廣的有趣點子,擴大閱讀的影響力,重新建造閱讀體驗的新形態,提倡可持續發展知識。

「編編閒暇」節目

「編編閒暇」玻璃塗鴉工作坊 

插畫家 LOSZEHAHA將教大家創作植物插畫,呈現在紗廠玻璃幕門上,為大家準備好閒”hea”的心情。

藝術家: LOSZEHAHA

參加者: Artkids studio明愛賽馬會「兒」動藝術館 or Public 公眾參與

日期: 20/3/2021

時間: 11:00 – 12:30

免費參加

竹扇編織工作坊 

本地編織藝術家 Breakthrough Art Studio「破.格」教授編織竹扇技巧,參加費用已包括一份材料包,參加者可以體驗編織的樂趣及親手製作一把獨一無二的竹扇。

藝術家: Breakthrough Art Studio 「破.格」

日期: 27/3/2021 ; 17/4/2021 ; 1/5/2021

時間: 13:00 – 15:00 / 15:30 – 17:30

收費: $250

小誌創作工作坊

插畫家 LOSZEHAHA將教大家插畫技巧,色彩配搭讓大家能輕鬆創作一本屬於你的小誌。

藝術家: LOSZEHAHA

日期: 10/4/2021

時間: 14:00 – 16:30

收費: $100

舞蹈表演: 紗紗滾

本地舞蹈形體藝術團體TS Crew,專誠為是次展覽設計了有趣的參與式舞蹈演出,看看他們如何利用身體及簡單的物料帶出編織之美。

藝術家: TS Crew

日期: 2/4/2021

時間: 16:30 – 17:30

免費觀賞

 

演繹繪本故事《小綠出走了》

Rolling Books是以推廣閱讀體驗的社會企業。透過靈活貼地的流動概念書車,以閱讀推廣的有趣點子,重新建造閱讀體驗的新形態。將於復活節期間來到為大家演繹由南豐紗廠及香港保護兒童會共同創作的社區繪本《小綠出走了》,一個關於交通燈綠公仔意外出走到社區街頭的故事。

藝術家: Rolling Books

日期: 5/4/2021

時間: 14:30 – 15:00 / 16:00 – 16:30

免費參加

《編編閒暇》竹編手扇材料包

竹編手扇由香港纖維藝術家Breakthrough Art Studio 「破.格」設計,他們一直採用不同物料探索編織工藝中的古老技術「梭織」。近年逐漸將竹籐編織融合於藝術創作之中,並設計簡單有趣的竹編手扇,讓更多人能體驗竹籐編織的樂趣。

是次南豐紗廠與香港口述影像協會合作,提供無障礙影片教學 ,教學旁白揉合了口述影像,另外影片設有香港手語翻譯,適合所有人觀看學習,一同享受《編編閒暇》的樂趣!

竹編手扇材料包是隨機配搭顏色組合,打開材料包後掃描說明書上的QR Code即可看到影片教學